Faculty Awards & Honors

Daniel Brat, MD, PhD

Daniel Brat, MD, PhD, a prominent neuropathologist and brain tumor investigator, was named chair of the Departments of Pathology at Feinberg and Northwestern Memorial Healthcare, effective this September. Brat was previously a professor and vice chair for Translational Programs in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine.

Karl Bilimora, MD, ’08 MS, ’10 GME, director of the Northwestern Surgical Outcomes and Quality Improvement Center and the John Benjamin Murphy Professor of Surgery and Medical Social Sciences, and Sarki Abdulkadir, MD, PhD, John T. Grayhack, MD, Professor of Urological Research and professor of Pathology, were inducted into the American Society for Clinical Investigation. Billimora has devoted his career to research focusing on improving approaches for measuring and improving hospital quality and safety, specifically in general surgery and oncology specialties. Abdulkadir’s career as a physician-scientist has focused on understanding and therapeutically targeting the molecular mechanism driving tumor initiation, specifically in prostate cancer.

Karl Bilimora, MD, ’08 MS, ’10 GME

Sarki Abdulkadir, MD, PhD

Shira Dinner, MD

Jeffrey Barsuk, ’99 MD, ’02 GME, ’10 MS

Shira Dinner, MD, assistant professor of Medicine in the Division of Hematology and Oncology, received a 2017 Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award from the National Cancer Institute (NCI). The award recognizes and supports outstanding mid-career clinical investigators who work at NCI-designated cancer centers and participate extensively in NCI-funded collaborative clinical trials.

Donald Lloyd-Jones, MD, ScM, senior associate dean for Clinical and Translational Research and chair of Preventive Medicine, was named Physician of the Year by the American Heart Association. He was also inducted into the Association of American Physicians.

Jeffrey Barsuk, ’99 MD, ’02 GME, ’10 MS, professor of Medicine in the Division of Hospital Medicine and of Medical Education, was recently awarded the 2017 Excellence in Research Award from the Society of Hospital Medicine. Barsuk was recognized for his decade-long research into optimizing clinical performance, using simulation technology within a mastery learning theoretical framework.

Multiple faculty were recognized at Feinberg’s fifth annual Honors Day:

Samar Attar, MD, speaking at Honors Day.

Cynthia Barnard, ’16 PhD, MBA

Dane Chetkovich, MD, PhD, professor of Neurology in the Division of  Neurophysiology/Epilepsy, and director of the Medical Scientist Training Program, accepted a leadership role at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, as chair of the Department of Neurology. Chetkovich will lead Vanderbilt’s nationally ranked department, which includes 16 clinical divisions, more than 80 faculty members, and more than 40 residents and fellows.

Paul DeCaen, PhD

Paul DeCaen, PhD, assistant professor in Pharmacology, received the Carl W. Gottschalk Research Scholar award from the American Society of Nephrology. This research career development award will fund his work on polycystic kidney disease.

Feinberg’s Women Faculty Organization (WFO) chose Amy Paller, MD, Walter J. Hamlin Professor and chair of the Department of Dermatology, as the inaugural winner of the first Paula H. Stern Award for Outstanding Women in Science and Medicine, established by the Department of Pharmacology in conjunction with the WFO. The award, named in honor of Dr. Paula Stern’s 50 years of scientific accomplishments and dedicated service to Feinberg, will be given annually to a Feinberg woman faculty member who has exhibited successful basic, translational or clinical research, strong leadership at a local, national and/or international level in her field, and as an exemplary role model inspires and mentors trainees and/or junior investigators.

Brian Mustanski, PhD, professor of Medical Social Sciences, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, and Psychology; director of the Institute for Sexual and Gender Minority Health and Wellbeing; and co-director of the Third Coast Center for AIDS Research, has been chosen as one of NBC News’ #Pride30 changemakers, innovators and rising stars. Mustanski has been a principal investigator for multiple federal and foundation research and training awards totaling over $38 million. His current projects include studies of young gay/bisexual men on the drivers of substance use and HIV in this population, several randomized controlled trials of HIV prevention program for adolescent and young adult gay/bisexual men, and a study of ethical considerations in LGBT adolescent participation in HIV prevention research.

The inaugural Paula H. Stern Award for Outstanding Women in Science and Medicine was awarded on May 30, 2017 to Amy Paller, MD. (Left: Stern, Right: Paller)