Faculty Awards & Honors

Hossein Ardehali, MD, PhD
Melissa Brown, PhD
Xunrong Luo, MD, PhD
Robert Kalb, MD
Hossein Ardehali, MD, PhD, professor of Medicine in the Division of Cardiology, was named the new director of Feinberg’s Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP). Two additional new leadership positions within the MSTP were also announced: Melissa Brown, PhD, professor of Microbiology-Immunology, was named associate director of MSTP Student Advising, while Xunrong Luo, MD, PhD, the Margaret Gray Morton Professor of Medicine in the Division of Nephrology/Hypertension, was named associate director of MSTP Admissions. They join Jayms Peterson, PhD, who will continue in his role as associate director for Administrative and Academic Affairs.
Robert Kalb, MD, will be the inaugural director of the Les Turner ALS Research and Patient Center at Northwestern Medicine and chief of Neuromuscular Medicine in the Ken & Ruth Davee Department of Neurology, beginning in December 2017. Kalb arrives from the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania where he heads a lab focusing on the abnormal molecular processes that lead to ALS.
Teresa K. Woodruff, ’89 PhD, the Thomas J. Watkins Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, chief of Reproductive Science in Medicine in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and director of the Women’s Health Research Institute at Northwestern was named associate provost for graduate education and dean of The Graduate School at Northwestern. She was also recently named editor-in-chief of Endocrinology, a peer-reviewed journal published by the Endocrine Society. Her term begins in January 2018.
Teresa K. Woodruff, ’89 PhD
Kyle Eagen, PhD

Kyle Eagen, PhD, instructor of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, and Jaehyuk Choi, MD, PhD, Ruth K. Freinkel, MD, Research Professor and assistant professor of Dermatology and of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, each received Director’s Awards from the National Institutes of Health. Eagen was given the Early Independence Award, and Choi received the New Innovator Award. Both support creative early stage investigators doing innovative, high-impact projects. (Read more about Choi’s research here).

John Varga, MD, John and Nancy Hughes Distinguished Professor of Rheumatology, director of the Northwestern Scleroderma Program and co-editor of the journal Arthritis and Rheumatology, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Scleroderma Foundation. The foundation, which has given this award to physicians only twice in its history, mentioned Varga’s more than a decade of service as chair of its Medical & Scientific Advisory Board and his role in creating the Early Career Investigator workshop and establishing the SCORE Grant program.

Melissa Simon, MD, MPH, ’06 GME, the George H. Gardner Professor of Clinical Gynecology, vice chair for clinical research in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and professor of Preventive Medicine and Medical Social Sciences, has been chosen to receive the 2017 Marion Spencer Fay Award, presented annually by the Drexel University College of Medicine Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership, in recognition of her contributions to women’s health, health equity and national health policy.

John Gatta, PhD, assistant professor of Family and Community Medicine, received the 2017 Outstanding Teaching Award from the American Statistical Association’s Section on the Teaching of Statistics in the Health Sciences. Gatta is the course director for biostatistics courses offered through Feinberg’s Master of Science in Clinical Investigation program.

Abel Kho, MD, director of the Center for Health Information Partnerships, was recently elected to the American College of Medical Informatics. (Read more about his work here.)

Rachel Cyrus, MD
Gopi Astik, MD
John Gatta, PhD
Rachel Cyrus, MD, assistant professor of Medicine in the Division of Hospital Medicine and Gopi Astik, MD, instructor of Hospital Medicine, were selected by the editorial board at ACP Hospitalist as top 10 hospitalists of 2017.

David Green, MD, ’74 PhD, professor emeritus of Medicine in the Division of Hematology and Oncology, received the “Walk in Our Shoes” Award from the Bleeding Disorders Alliance of Illinois. Rosalind Ramsey-Goldman, MD, Solovy/Arthritis Research Society Research Professor of Medicine in the Division of Rheumatology, was chosen to receive the Lupus Foundation of America’s 2017 Evelyn V. Hess Award.

Jeffrey Wayne, MD, chief of Surgical Oncology in the Department of Surgery, received the Melanoma Research Foundation’s Humanitarian Award, presented to a leader who has committed to fighting melanoma through exemplary patient care, cutting-edge research or scientific leadership.