Faculty Awards & Honors

Mary McDermott, MD, ’92 GME

Laimonis Laimins, PhD

Richard J. Miller, PhD

Firas Wehbe, MD, PhD

Mary McDermott, MD, ’92 GME, the Jeremiah Stamler Professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics and of Preventive Medicine, was named a Distinguished Scientist by the American Heart Association (AHA). The award honors prominent scientists and clinicians who have made significant contributions to the understanding of cardiovascular disease and stroke. McDermott has dedicated her research to lower extremity peripheral artery disease (PAD); her many accomplishments include demonstrating that supervised treadmill exercise improves walking ability among people with PAD, even when they are asymptomatic or have atypical leg symptoms.

McDermott will also lead a new research network center sponsored by the AHA focused on calf muscle pathology and disability in PAD.

Laimonis Laimins, PhD, the Guy and Anne Youmans Professor and chair of Microbiology-Immunology, and Richard J. Miller, PhD, the Alfred Newton Richards Professor of Pharmacology, were named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Laimins was recognized for his contributions to the field of viral oncology, particularly for his studies on the differentiation-dependent life cycle of human papillomaviruses. Miller was recognized for his contributions to neuroscience and neuropharmacology, particularly in elucidating the role ion channels and receptors play in synaptic communication in health and disease.

Firas Wehbe, MD, PhD, assistant professor of Preventive Medicine in the Division of Health and Biomedical Informatics, has been appointed Northwestern Medicine’s inaugural chief research informatics officer.

Patricia Garcia, MD, MPH, ’91 GME, professor of Medical Education and Obstetrics and Gynecology in the Division of Maternal-Fetal Medicine, was named associate dean for curriculum.

Alexis Thompson, MD, MPH, professor of Pediatrics in the Division of Hematology, Oncology, and Stem Cell Transplantation, has been named president of the American Society of Hematology.

Richard D’Aquila, MD, the Howard Taylor Ricketts, MD, Professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases, and Phil Hockberger, PhD, associate professor of Physiology, were named associate vice presidents to Northwestern University’s Office for Research.

June McKoy, MD, JD, MBA, was chosen to join the National Commission on Orthotic and Prosthetic Education (NCOPE) board of directors. The NCOPE is responsible for setting education standards of all professionals in the field of orthotics/prosthetics.

Patricia Garcia, MD, MPH, ’91 GME

Alexis Thompson, MD, MPH

June McKoy, MD, JD, MBA

William Gradishar, MD, the Betsy Bramsen Professorship of Breast Oncology and interim chief of Hematology and Oncology in the Department of Medicine, was among the top 27 breast oncologists in the country based on data from Grand Rounds, a company that uses a machine learning algorithm to analyze publicly available and proprietary data about physicians, as reported by Forbes. Gradishar is also deputy director for the Clinical Network in the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University. Donald Lloyd-Jones, MD, senior associate dean for Clinical and Translational Research and chair of Preventive Medicine, was among the top 27 cardiologists.

Emily Rogalski, ’07 PhD, was named one of Crain’s Chicago Business’s “40 Under 40.” She was recognized as a disruptor who is “upsetting the status quo” through her groundbreaking work with SuperAgers.

Amy Paller, MD, the Walter J. Hamlin Professor and chair of Dermatology, was selected by her colleagues in the Women’s Dermatologic Society to receive the 2018 Wilma Bergfeld, MD Visionary & Leadership Award.

Peter Penzes, PhD, the Ruth and Evelyn Dunbar Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, was named director of Feinberg’s newly announced Center for Autism and Neurodevelopment. The center’s mission is to catalyze scientific collaborations to better understand the biological bases of autism and related neurodevelopmental disorders and to translate those findings into new treatments.

William Schnaper, MD, the Irene Heinz Given and John LaPorte Given Research Professor of Pediatrics in the Division of Kidney Diseases, received the 2018 American Society of Pediatric Nephrology Founders’ Award, which recognizes individuals who have made a unique and lasting contribution to the field of pediatric nephrology.