Faculty Awards & Honors

Michael Abecassis, MD, MBA

Mercedes Carnethon, PhD

Erin Hsu, PhD

Wellington Hsu, MD

Four faculty were honored during the 14th annual Lewis Landsberg Research Day on April 5:

Neil Stone, MD, the Robert Bonow, MD, Professor, received the 2018 Joseph Stokes, III, MD Award from the American Society for Preventive Cardiology for his achievements in preventive cardiology. Since 1988, Stone has served on two National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute panels responsible for cholesterol guidelines that affect treatment for millions of Americans. In 2013, Stone chaired the American College of Cardiology and the American Heart Association panel during the release of the most recent guidelines.

Neil Stone, MD

Karl Bilimoria, MD, ’08 MS, ’10 GME, the John B. Murphy Professor of Surgery and director of the Northwestern Surgical Outcomes and Quality Improvement Center (SOQIC), was elected president of the Association for Academic Surgery, the world’s largest organization of academic surgeons. His new role will be effective February 1, 2019.

Robert Murphy, MD, ’81, ’84 GME, director of the Center for Global Health and the John Philip Phair Professor of Infectious Diseases; Patrick Kiser, PhD, professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology; and Wendy Murray, PhD, professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and Physical Therapy and Human Movement Sciences, were elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering’s College of Fellows. These fellows comprise the top 2 percent of medical and biological engineers in the country.

William J. Gradishar, MD

William J. Gradishar, MD, the Betsy Bramsen Professor of Breast Oncology and director of the clinical network of the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University, was appointed Feinberg’s chief of Hematology and Oncology in the Department of Medicine.

Janardan Reddy, MD, professor emeritus of Pathology, received the Gold-Headed Cane Award from the American Society for Investigative Pathology, for his leadership and long-term research in liver biology and pancreatic/hepatic differentiation.

Michael Markl, PhD, the Lester B. and Frances T. Knight Professor of Cardiac Imaging in the Department of Radiology, was named a fellow in the Society for Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance.

Katherine Barsness, MD, ’11 MS, associate professor of Surgery in the Division of Pediatric Surgery and of Medical Education, was named a fellow in The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship Program.

Hank Seifert, PhD, the John E. Porter Professor of Biomedical Science in the Department of Microbiology-Immunology, received the 2018 Penn State Graduate School Alumni Society Lifetime Achievement Award.

Katherine Barsness, MD, ’11 MS

Richard Burt, MD, chief of Immunotherapy and Autoimmune Diseases in the Department of Medicine, received the Van Bekkum Award during the Annual Meeting of the European Society for Blood and Marrow Transplantation.

The following faculty have been invested into endowed professorships in 2018 to date: