Faculty Awards & Honors

Bruce Henschen, ’12 MD, ’12 MPH, ’15 GME

Eileen Bigio, MD

Michelle Birkett, PhD

Kathleen Green, PhD

Four faculty were recognized for outstanding teaching and mentorship during the sixth annual Honors Day on May 18:

Melissa Simon, MD, MPH, ’06 GME, the George H. Gardner Professor of Clinical Gynecology, vice chair for clinical research in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and professor of Preventive Medicine and Medical Social Sciences, received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring. The award is administered by the National Science Foundation on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Kathleen Green, PhD, the Joseph L. Mayberry, Sr., Professor of Pathology and Toxicology, and professor of Dermatology, received the David Martin Carter Mentor Award presented by the American Skin Association during the Society for Investigative Dermatology annual meeting.

Susan Quaggin, MD, chief of Nephrology and Hypertension in the Department of Medicine and director of the Feinberg Cardiovascular and Renal Research Institute received the 13th annual Dorothy Ann and Clarence L. Ver Steeg Distinguished Research Fellowship Award.

Panagiotis Ntziachristos, PhD, assistant professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics and Medicine, received the 2017 Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Award for his research on pediatric leukemia.

Maciej (Matt) Lesniak, MD, chair of Neurological Surgery and the Michael J. Marchese Professor of Neurosurgery, and John Pandolfino, MD, ’97 GME, ’01 GME, ’05 MSCI, chief of Gastroenterology and Hepatology in the Department of Medicine and the Hans Popper Professor, were inducted into the American Society for Clinical Investigation.

The following faculty have been invested into endowed professorships:

Katherine L. Wisner, MD, the Norman and Helen Asher Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and of Obstetrics and Gynecology, was awarded the Vivian Pinn Women’s Health Research Award.

Kathryn Hufmeyer, ’11 MD, ’14 GME, assistant professor of Medicine, and James Walter, MD, ’17 GME, instructor of Medicine, both received the 2018-2020 Augusta Webster Fellowship Award.

Brian Mustanski, ’99 PhD, director of the Institute for Sexual and Gender Minority Health and Wellbeing, and professor of Medical Social Sciences and of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, received the American Psychological Association Division 44 Award for Distinguished Contribution and Training in recognition of his work disseminating science and scholarship on LGBTQ issues.

Rosalind Ramsey-Goldman, MD, the Solovy/Arthritis Research Society Research Professor of Medicine, received the 2018 Paula H. Stern Award for Outstanding Women in Science and Medicine from the Northwestern Medical Women Faculty Organization.

Panagiotis Ntziachristos, PhD

Kathryn Hufmeyer, ’11 MD, ’14 GME

Babafemi Taiwo, MBBS, ’06 GME

Michelle Birkett, PhD, assistant professor of Medical Social Sciences and Preventive Medicine, was accepted into the inaugural 18-member cohort of New Voices in Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, a new initiative of the National Academies.

Hossein Ardehali, MD, PhD, professor of Medicine and director of the Center for Molecular Cardiology, and Philip Greenland, MD, the Harry W. Dingman Professor of Cardiology, were inducted into the Association of American Physicians.

Daniel Brat, MD, PhD, chair and the Magerstadt Professor of Pathology, and Eileen Bigio, MD, the Paul E. Steiner Research Professor of Pathology, were named president and vice president, respectively, of the American Association of Neuropathologists (AANP) for 2019-2020, marking the first time both leaders have come from the same institution in the 95-year history of the AANP.