Faculty Awards and Honors

Jason Wertheim, MD, PhD
Steven DeVries, MD, PhD
Sheetal Kircher, MD, ’11 GME
Jane Holl, MD, MPH
Jason Wertheim, MD, PhD, vice chair for research in the Department of Surgery and the Edward G. Elcock Professor of Surgical Research, was named associate director for admissions of Feinberg’s Medical Scientist Training Program.

Ali Shilatifard, PhD, chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, director of the Simpson Querrey Center for Epigenetics and the Robert Francis Furchgott Professor, was appointed editor of Science Advances, an open-access journal published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, which also publishes the journal Science.

Steven DeVries, MD, PhD, the David Shoch, MD, PhD, professor of Ophthalmology, was awarded the Brian Boycott Prize at the 2018 Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology Science Research Conference on Retinal Neurobiology and Visual Processing. The prize honors career achievements in retinal neuroscience, with the winner chosen by a committee of prominent scientists in the field.

Focusing on Cancer

Leonidas Platanias, MD, PhD, director of the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University; the Jesse, Sara, Andrew, Abigail, Benjamin and Elizabeth Lurie Professor of Oncology; and professor of Medicine and of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, was elected to the Association of American Cancer Institutes (AACI) Board of Directors. Comprised of 98 premier academic and freestanding cancer research centers in the United States and Canada, the AACI is dedicated to reducing the burden of cancer by enhancing the impact of the leading academic cancer centers (read more about Platanias here).

Sheetal Kircher, MD, ’11 GME, assistant professor of Medicine and medical director of the Cancer Survivorship Institute at the Lurie Cancer Center, was one of two health policy fellows selected by the American Society of Clinical Oncology for 2018-2019. In her role, she will have the opportunity to shape cancer policy and gain leadership experience.

June M. McKoy, MD, ’01 GME, JD, MBA, associate professor of Medicine and Preventive Medicine, was named an associate editor of JNCCN—The Journal of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network.

Joan Guitart, MD
Jane Holl, MD, MPH, director of the Center for Healthcare Studies and Center for Education in Health Sciences, both within Feinberg’s Institute for Public Health and Medicine, and professor of Pediatrics, Medicine and Preventive Medicine, received the 2018 John M. Eisenberg Excellence in Mentorship Award at the 24th Annual Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Research Conference.

Jaehyuk Choi, MD, PhD, the Ruth K. Freinkel, MD, Research Professor, and assistant professor of Dermatology and of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, was selected as one of three finalists by the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health for the inaugural Trailblazer Prize.

Amy Paller, MD, ’81, ’83 GME, the Walter J. Hamlin Professor and chair of Dermatology, was elected president of the International Society for Pediatric Dermatology.

Lois Hedman, ’87 MS, DScPT, associate professor of Physical Therapy and Human Movement Sciences, was named president elect of the Northwestern University Faculty Senate. Hedman’s term began this fall at the beginning of the 2018-2019 academic year.

Erin Hsu, PhD, research associate professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, was named assistant director of the Simpson Querrey Institute for BioNanotechnology (SQI). Hsu will help develop new programs to foster connections between Feinberg faculty, key collaborators at SQI and faculty on the Evanston campus.

Lois Hedman, ’87 MS, DScPT
Sanjiv Shah, MD

The following faculty have been invested into endowed professorships: