Faculty Awards & Honors

James Chandler, MD, ’96 GME
Aarati Didwania, MD
Karen Ho, MD
Susan Goldsmith, MD, ’08 GME
Four faculty were inducted into Northwestern’s chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) during a ceremony on March 12:
Four faculty were honored during the seventh annual Honors Day on May 17:

James Walter, MD, ’17 GME, assistant professor of Medicine in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care; Eugene Silinsky, PhD, professor of Pharmacology; and Susan Goldsmith, MD, ’08 GME, assistant professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and of Medical Education, received the George H. Joost Teaching Award. Suzanne Schmidt, MD, ’09 GME, assistant professor of Pediatrics in the Division of Emergency Medicine, received the Michael M. Ravitch Award for outstanding teaching in a small-group setting.

Deborah Clements, MD
Deborah Clements, MD, chair and Nancy and Warren Furey Professor of Community Medicine, was elected as president of the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors (AFMRD). Clements will serve as AFMRD president for 2019–2020 and immediate past president in 2020–2021. Clements joined the AFMRD Board of Directors as Member-at-Large in 2016. As a member of the board she has served in numerous roles, including Membership Committee Chair, Organization of Program Directors (OPDA) Liaison, Finance Committee member, ACGME Milestones 2.0. Committee, and Length of Training Pilot Liaison.
Jaehyuk Choi, MD, PhD

Arthur Prindle, PhD, assistant professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, was named a Pew Biomedical Scholar. Prindle will receive a four-year, $300,000 grant to study the genetic signals that prompt bacteria to migrate from densely-packed communities called biofilms. Prindle joins 21 other junior faculty from institutions across the U.S. who were selected by the Pew Charitable Trust for their promise in contributing to science relevant to human health. Mark Huffman, MD, MPH, ’09 GME, the Quentin D. Young Professor of Health Policy and associate professor of Preventive Medicine in the Division of Epidemiology, has been named a 2019 Emerging Leaders in Health and Medicine Scholar by the National Academy of Medicine.

William McGaghie, ’73 PhD, professor of Medical Education and Preventive Medicine, has received the 2019 John P. Hubbard Award from the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME). The Hubbard Award is given annually to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of evaluation in medicine; NBME noted McGaghie’s nearly 40-year career investigating and improving medical education, with many notable discoveries during his time at Feinberg. Jaehyuk Choi, MD, PhD, the Ruth K. Freinkel, MD, Research Professor of  Dermatology and Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics, was selected to receive a 2019 Young Investigator Award from the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) and the NCCN Foundation.

Linda Teplin, ’75 PhD, vice chair for Research and the Owen L. Coon Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and a professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases, was named the 2019 Paula H. Stern Award for Outstanding Women in Science and Medicine by the Feinberg Women Faculty Organization. Karl Bilimoria, MD, ’08 MS, ’10 GME, vice chair for Quality and the John Benjamin Murphy Professor of Surgery, and Joseph Leventhal, MD, PhD, the Fowler McCormick Professor in Surgery in the Division of Organ Transplantation, were inducted into the American Surgical Association.
Linda Teplin, ’75 PhD
Jacob Iasha Sznajder, MD, the Ernest S. Bazley Professor of Asthma and Related Disorders and professor of Medicine in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care and of Cell and Developmental Biology, was the recipient of the 2019 Edward Livingston Trudeau Medal from the American Thoracic Society.