Kenrad Nelson2_150Kenrad E. Nelson, ’58 MD, is professor of epidemiology, international health and medicine at Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions in Baltimore, a position he has held since 1986. His research is focused on HIV/AIDS among high-risk populations in the U.S., and he also has worked on research projects in HIV, Hepatitis C, B and E, STDs, tropical medicine, leprosy, nosocomial infections, infections in drug users, tuberculosis and other infectious diseases in Thailand, China, Taiwan, Bangladesh and the Republic of Georgia.

In 2006, Dr. Nelson was elected president of the American Epidemiological Society. That year, the American Association for the Advancement of Science also elected him a fellow in the Section on Medical Sciences, an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. Dr. Nelson was recognized for his unique contributions to the understanding of the epidemiology of virus-induced disease, particularly hepatitis and AIDS in Thailand.

In addition, he received a Recognition Medal from the U.S. Civilian Research and Development Foundation for his collaboration with scientists from the Republic of Georgia. The foundation, a nonprofit organization authorized by the U.S. Congress and established by the National Science Foundation, promotes international scientific and technical collaboration, primarily between the United States and Eurasia (former Soviet Union countries), through grants, technical resources and training.

Dr. Nelson has held several named lectureships; authored or co-authored 480 publications in the scientific literature; edited three books on infectious diseases epidemiology; and has advised at least 50 doctoral and master’s students.

He is currently collaborating on infectious diseases research in China, Taiwan, Thailand, Nepal, Ghana and Georgia.

Dr. Nelson and his wife Karen reside in Baltimore and are the parents of five children.

Dr. Chao is second from right.

Dr. Chao is second from right.

Jason Chao, ’79 MD, MS, was part of MedU’s Family Medicine Computer-Assisted Simulations for Educating Students (fmCASES) team that received the prestigious Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) Innovative Program Award at the spring conference in Orlando, Fla. The award honors excellence in original programming that benefits family medicine residents, students or faculty.



Wendy-Eberhardt_150BWendy Eberhardt, ’81 MD, received the 2014 Sidney R. Garfield Exceptional Contribution Award for research, teaching and leadership from Kaiser Permanente. The award is named for Sidney R. Garfield, MD, the physician founder of Kaiser Permanente. The Exceptional Contribution Award recognizes The Permanente Medical Group (TPMG) physicians who exemplify Dr. Garfield’s innovative nature. These physicians developed systems and programs that have a significant impact on patients, colleagues and the broader community.




Andrew Lazar, ’82 MD, ’87 GME, addressed members of the Congressional Skin Cancer Caucus at the U.S. Capitol in June about skin cancer prevention, early detection and treatment on behalf of the American Academy of Dermatology. He then led a three-hour skin cancer screening for congressional members and their staff.

Stephen Kates, ’84 MD, ’86 GME, has been selected to serve as chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Virginia Commonwealth University, following a national search. He began his tenure in November.

Earlier this year, Dr. Kates and his research partners won the 2015 Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research/Orthopaedic Research Society Richard Brand Award for the most outstanding clinical orthopaedic research paper, “A multiplex assay of host immunity against Staph aureus for Osteomyelitis patients.” In addition, he serves as the national leader of the NSQIP/AAOS/OTA national-focused registry on hip fractures and is an internationally recognized thought leader in geriatric fracture care. Dr. Kates developed the Geriatric Fracture Center Model of Care, which has been emulated by many hospitals in the U.S., UK, Europe, Latin America and Asia.

After medical school, Dr. Kates completed his surgery residency training at Northwestern University (1986) and orthopaedic residency at the University of Rochester (1989). Before his appointment as chair, he was the Hansjörg Wyss Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and the associate director for the Center for Musculoskeletal Research at the University of Rochester. He is editor of Geriatric Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation and is past president of the International Geriatric Fracture Society. Dr. Kates serves as the PI of the AO Foundation-Trauma Clinical Priority Program on Bone Infection.

Dr. Kates relocated to Richmond with his wife, Amy L. Kates, RN, MS, who has vast experience in cardiology and management, and his daughter Hailey, who is a national-level equestrian. His eldest daughter, Olivia Kates, MD, is an intern in internal medicine at Columbia University Medical Center.


Michael Kuettel, ’86 MD, PhD, MBA, chair of radiation medicine at Roswell Park Cancer Institute, was elected Health Policy Council vice chair for the American Society for Radiation Oncology.



Neysa McDonald, ’04 MD, ’04 MPH, was selected for Connecticut Magazine‘s “Top Docs 2015 Guide” for pediatrics.


Amit T. Darnule, MD, ’08 GME, a spine pain anesthesiologist with Spine Team Texas, was named to MSP Communications’ 2015 list of Rising StarsTM Super Doctors.