Nirmal S. Mann, MS ’69, GME ’69, of Sacramento, Calif., works full time as professor of medicine and gastroenterology and senior consultant gastroenterology/hepatology at the University of California, Davis Medical Center in Sacramento (UCDMC). He is also director, gastroenterology/hepatology at UCDMC-Folsom Campus. He was named a Master in the American College of Physicians in 2007, Master in the American College of Gastroenterology in 2011, and was recently named a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh and London. Dr. Mann and his wife, Surinder K. Mann, MD, FACP, FACG, who is also a professor of medicine and gastroenterology at UCDMC, have two daughters. Neel K. Mann, MD, is a staff gastroenterologist at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles. Sheel K. Mann, JD, also lives in Los Angeles.



Roderic Eckenhoff, MD ’78, is the principal investigator on a multidisciplinary, multi-institution research program at the University of Pennsylvania’s Perelman School of Medicine that is working to unravel the mysteries of anesthesia. The research team in September 2013 received $8.6 million over the next five years in renewed grant support from the National Institutes of Health.



PN-Roth, Elliot, MDElliot Roth, MD ’82, GME ’85, ’86, the Paul B. Magnuson Professor and chairman of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at the Feinberg School of Medicine, was honored by the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine with the Edward Lowman Award in Nov. 2013. He was recognized for an energetic promotion of the spirit of interdisciplinary teamwork in rehabilitation. Dr. Roth writes, “I am in my 19th year as chairman of PM&R at Northwestern, and I have published more than 130 papers. My son, Howard, is completing his PhD in organic chemistry and my daughter, Jessica, is completing medical school, now applying for residencies in internal medicine. ‘Hi’ to all fellow classmates!”



PN-Wayne_IMG_7647Diane Wayne, MD ’91, of Wilmette, Ill., received the Leader in General Internal Medicine award from the Society of General Internal Medicine Midwest Region in Sept. 2013. The award recognizes research and education contributions to the field of general internal medicine. Dr. Wayne, the Dr. John Sherman Appleman Professor of Medical Education at the Feinberg School of Medicine, was recognized for innovative educational programs and mentorship of others in general internal medicine. She was nominated by Feinberg alumni, Jeff Barsuk, MD ’99, GME ’02, MS ’11, and Aashish Didwania, MD, GME ’06.
Erik K. Alexander, MD ’97, associate professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School, has been elected to the Board of Directors of the American Thyroid Association.



Julian D’Achille, MD ’08, graduated from the Boston University School of Public Health in May 2013 with a master’s in public health with a concentration in health policy and management and a specialization in health policy. While at Boston University, he received the school’s Allan R. Meyers Memorial Prize for Excellence in Health Policy and Management as well as the Upsilon Phi Delta national academic honor society for students in healthcare management and policy.


Eduardo Moioli, MD ’12, is a dermatology resident at the University of Chicago. He was named the 2013 Intern of the Year at MacNeal Hospital.



Rehabilitation Institute of ChicagoDeborah Gaebler-Spira, MD, GME ’85, professor in physical medicine and rehabilitation at the Feinberg School of Medicine, was awarded the Pathways.org Pioneer Award. She was recognized for making a difference in children’s physical medicine and rehabilitation. Pathways.org works to empower health professionals and parents with knowledge of early detection for children’s sensory, motor, and communication development.



PN-Harold Paz 2Harold L. Paz, MD, GME ’85, ’86, chief executive officer, Penn State Hershey Medical Center and Health System, Penn State’s senior vice president for health affairs, and dean of Penn State College of Medicine, was elected chair of the board of directors of the Association of Academic Health Centers at its annual meeting in Sept. 2013.