Hugh S. Collett, ’47 MD, was awarded an honorary baccalaureate degree from Great Basin College in Elko, Nev., in May, and was the commencement speaker. He helped found the community college, the first in Nevada, and has been on its advisory board for 48 years. Dr. Collett was also selected as a 2015 Distinguished Nevadan by the Board of Regents of the Nevada System of Higher Education for significant achievements contributing to the cultural, scientific or social advancement of Nevada and its people. His name will be engraved in the University of Nevada’s Reno Honor Court as a man who has contributed to the University’s history of exemplary scholarship, teaching and outreach.



Bill McCarberg, ’76 MD, assistant adjunct clinical professor at the University of California in San Diego, was appointed president of the American Academy of Pain Medicine.


Barbara Pettitt2_150Barbara Pettitt, ’76 MD, currently the director of medical student education for the Department of Surgery at Emory University School of Medicine, received the Olga Jonasson Distinguished Member Award from the Association of Women Surgeons (AWS) last fall, presented to a member who exemplifies its ideals. Recently promoted to full professor, Dr. Pettitt is active on multiple medical school committees and several national task forces working on various aspects of surgical education.

In June, she made her fifth annual surgery trip to the Central Highlands of Haiti with Emory School of Medicine faculty and students. They partner with Project Medishare of Haiti.


David L. LaMasters, ’77 MD, ’77 GME, a neuroradiologist at Neuroradiology Consulting in Dallas, was inducted as a fellow in the American College of Radiology (ACR). ACR Fellows demonstrate a history of service to the College, organized radiology, teaching or research. Dr. LaMasters is a member of the ACR, the American Society of Neuroradiology, the Radiological Society of North America and the Texas Radiological Society.


Langdon L. Miller, ’79 MD, principal at Sound Clinical Solutions, was appointed president and chief medical officer at Cleveland BioLabs, Inc.



Janice Buelow, ’84 BSN, vice president of programs and research at the Epilepsy Foundation, was appointed as one of the first members of the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute’s new advisory panel on communication and dissemination research.


Dr. LenkeLawrence “Larry” Lenke, ’86 MD, joined NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital in July 2015, where he helped establish a comprehensive spine hospital and was appointed surgeon-in-chief at NewYork-Presbyterian/Allen and director of spinal deformity surgery at NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Medical Center and NewYork-Presbyterian/Morgan Stanley Children’s Hospital. In addition, he is on the faculty of Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons.

Dr. Lenke developed the classification system for adolescent idiopathic scoliosis, which is now referred to as the Lenke Classification System for Scoliosis. In the past 15 years, he has hosted more than 700 spinal surgeons from around the globe to observe his surgeries. His practice is devoted exclusively to spinal deformity surgery, with an emphasis on complex reconstructive surgery in children and adults.

In 2013, he was honored with the North American Spine Society’s Leon Wiltse Award for excellence in leadership and/or clinical research in spine care. Dr. Lenke’s prolific academic career includes more than 360 published peer-reviewed manuscripts, five textbooks on spinal surgery and more than 125 textbook chapters.

Dr. Lenke writes, “I am excited about this new venture and proud of my Northwestern Medical School heritage!”


Scott Zeller2015_150Scott Zeller, ’86 MD, chief of psychiatric emergency services at Alameda Health System, San Leandro, Calif., has been named the U.S.A. “Doctor of the Year” by the National Council for Behavioral Health of Washington, D.C. This award honors the contributions of individuals living with mental illnesses and addictions, as well as those treating and supporting them.

Dr. Zeller created and led a multicenter guidelines project for best practices in the Evaluation and Treatment of Agitation. In addition, his Alameda Model addresses the problem of individuals spending long hours in the ER—resulting in reduction of delays by more than 80% and unnecessary hospitalizations by more than 75%.



Patrick Geraghty, ’91 MD, of St. Louis, associate professor of surgery and radiology and co-director of the Limb Salvage Center at Washington University School of Medicine, received the 2015 Hero with a Heart Award in March at the Heartworks St. Louis Gala. He is a vascular surgeon who performs lifesaving surgery for people with complex connective tissue disorders.


Connie Savor Price, ’95 MD, ’98, ’01 GME, has been promoted to chief medical officer at Denver Health, where she has been since July 2002, most recently as chief of infectious disease and medical director of infection control and prevention. She is also a professor of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases at the University of Colorado School Of Medicine.

As chief medical officer, she will lead the organization’s physician and provider services. Dr. Price will oversee the medical staff office and work collaboratively with clinical operations, quality and ambulatory care to ensure cost-effective, high-quality patient care. She will continue her role as an active clinician and researcher.



Danny Thomas_150Danny G. Thomas, ’02 MD, ’02 MPH, attending physician in pediatric emergency medicine at the Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin, has been elected to the AOA by medical students at the Medical College of Wisconsin. Also, this year his concussion research has been published in Pediatrics, and featured in the New York Times  and on NPR’s “Morning Edition” and “All Things Considered.