Lee Jampol_150Lee M. Jampol, MD, Louis Feinberg, MD, Professor of Ophthalmology, was awarded the Macula Society’s highest honor, the Michaelson Medal, and gave the Michaelson lecture at the 38th Annual Macula Society Meeting in February.

The honor is given every three years in the name of I.C. Michaelson, MD, whose research on the development and pathophysiology of the retinal vasculature laid the groundwork for future retina scientists. Dr. Jampol has worked at Feinberg for more than 30 years, studying inflammatory diseases of the retina, cystoid macular edema, pharmacology of the retina and central serous chorioretinopathy, and served as chair of the Department of Ophthalmology from 1983 to 2010. Dr. Jampol was president of the Macula Society from 1994 to 1996.


The newest Feinberg School of Medicine members of the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) medical honor society are:
Michael Abecassis, MD, MBA, chief of organ transplantation and founding director of the Comprehensive Transplant Center
Frank Miller, ’88 MD, ’93 GME, professor of radiology
Rukhsana Mirza, MD, MS, ’06 GME, assistant professor of ophthalmology
John Varga, MD, John and Nancy Hughes Distinguished Professor of Rheumatology and director of the Northwestern Scleroderma Program.


The following faculty members were recognized at the 2015 Feinberg Honors Day:

– George H. Joost Outstanding Teaching Awards: R. Kannan Mutharasan, ’03 MD, ’10 GME, assistant professor of medicine-cardiology, and Eugene Silinsky, PhD, professor of pharmacology, for outstanding teaching in a large group setting.
– M3/M4 Clinical Teaching Award: Robert Hirschtick, MD, associate professor of medicine-general internal medicine and geriatrics, for excellence in the clinical teaching of medical students.
– Michael M. Ravitch Award: Rishi Agrawal, MD/PhD, assistant professor of pediatrics-hospital-based medicine, for his outstanding teaching in a small-group setting.


Michel Kliot, MD, Neurosurgery:  Peripheral Nerve

Michel Kliot, MD, has been appointed interim chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery. Dr. Kliot is a professor in the department, a neurological surgeon at Northwestern Memorial Hospital and an expert in peripheral nerve disorders. Dr. Kliot succeeds Andrew Parsa, MD, PhD, who passed away in April.

Amy Kontrick_150

Amy Kontrick, MD, assistant professor of emergency medicine, was named the national Clerkship Director of the Year by the Clerkship Directors in Emergency Medicine (CDEM), an academy of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine. Dr. Kontrick stewarded the development of a required EM clerkship for Feinberg M4s in 2002, a rotation that has matured into a student favorite. She has incorporated numerous educational best practices and spends countless hours advising those pursuing a career in emergency medicine.


Xunrong Luo_150

Xunrong Luo, MD, PhD, associate professor of medicine-nephrology, microbiology-immunology and surgery-organ transplantation, has been selected to receive the American Society of Transplantation (AST) Basic Science Investigator Award, which goes to mid-career investigators who have made substantial contributions to the field of transplantation medicine. Her research focuses on preventing the lifelong need to take immunosuppressive drugs.



Stephen Miller, PhD, Immunology, FSM

Stephen Miller, PhD, director of the Interdepartmental Immunobiology Center, Judy Gugenheim Research Professor of Microbiology-Immunology, and professor of dermatology, has been selected to receive the Alumni Fellow Award from Penn State. This is the highest recognition given to Penn State alumni and is a university-wide, permanent designation.

Amy Paller_150

Amy S. Paller, MD, ’83 GME, Walter J. Hamlin Professor of Dermatology and chair of the Department of Dermatology, has been appointed to the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS) advisory council. NIAMS’ mission is “to support research into the causes, treatment and prevention of arthritis and musculoskeletal and skin diseases, the training of … scientists to carry out the research; and the dissemination of information on research progress in these diseases.”




Daniel Pinto, PT, PhD, assistant professor in the Department of Physical Therapy and Human Movement Sciences, was awarded a fellowship from the European Society for Clinical and Economic Aspects of Osteoporosis and Osteoarthritis for his research: “Relationship of sedentary behavior with QALYs in community dwelling adults in the United States with or at risk for knee osteoarthritis.” Dr. Pinto is an investigator in the area of health services research, with an interest in identifying the effectiveness and efficiency of conservative interventions for the treatment of musculoskeletal conditions. He is the recent recipient of the Northwestern University-Patient-centered Intervention and Engagement Training (NU-PATIENT) K12 grant. Dr. Pinto serves as an editorial board member for the Journal of Orthopedic and Sports Physical Therapy and Physiotherapy Practice and Research.


(L to R) David Engman, MD, PhD; Jonathan Licht, MD; and Robert Schleimer, PhD received awards at Research Day 2015.

(L to R) David Engman, MD, PhD; Jonathan Licht, MD; and Robert Schleimer, PhD received awards at Research Day 2015.

Robert Schleimer, PhD, chief of the Division of Medicine Allergy-Immunology and Dr. Roy Patterson Professor of Medicine, was awarded the Tripartite Legacy Faculty Prize in Translational Science and Education at the 11th Annual Lewis Landsberg Research Day in April. This annual faculty award demonstrates excellence in research that emphasizes translational approaches, teaching and mentoring and leadership.

The Medical Faculty Council Mentors of the Year were: Jonathan Licht, MD, chief of the Division of Medicine-Hematology/Oncology, and David Engman, MD, PhD, ’95 GME, professor of pathology and microbiology-immunology.


Shohreh Shahabi, MD,    Chief of Gynecologic Oncology

Shohreh Shahabi, MD, professor of obstetrics and gynecology-gynecologic oncology, joined the Feinberg School of Medicine as chief of the Division of Gynecologic Oncology in May. She also assumed a leadership role as a member of the Lurie Cancer Center’s Executive Committee and the Clinical Cancer Center’s Executive Council.





Athanassios Vassilopoulos, PhD,    Radiation Oncology

Athanasios Vasilopoulos, PhD, assistant professor of radiation oncology, has been named the 2015 Lynn Sage Foundation Scholar. Dr. Vassilopoulos focuses his research on the genetic and biochemical connections between sirtuin genes and carcinogenesis as well as tumor cell resistance. He studies the potential mechanistic relationship between these sirtuins and specific targets and/or signaling pathways involved in the development of age-related diseases such as cancer.



James ST Yao_150

James S.T. Yao, MD, PhD, professor emeritus in the Division of Vascular Surgery, has received the René Leriche-Prize 2015 from the International Society of Surgery/Société Internationale de Chirurgie. This prize is awarded to the surgeon who has made the most significant contribution to surgery of the arteries, veins or heart. The executive committee cited Dr. Yao’s pioneering work with vascular laboratory techniques as well as his many contributions toward the understanding of peripheral vascular problems and non-invasive diagnostic techniques.