Last November, nearly 60 members of the Feinberg faculty were recognized for their benevolence to the medical school and their membership in the Nathan Smith Davis Society, which honors individuals who support the medical school through generous philanthropy and volunteerism.

“The Nathan Smith Davis Society has a powerful influence, reminding us what we do here at Northwestern,” said Eric G. Neilson, MD, vice president for medical affairs and Lewis Landsberg Dean. “We are cultivating a culture of connectivity and giving back. Participation should be a part of who we all are at Northwestern.”

The reception also celebrated progress made so far in the medical school’s Faculty Giving Campaign. Faculty members play an essential role within We Will. The Campaign for Northwestern Medicine, providing both professional and philanthropic dedication to the success of Northwestern. To date, nearly 600 faculty have participated in the campaign, making more than $2 million in total contributions to support the medical school.

Neil Stone, ’68 MD, ’74, ’75 GME, and Boyd Metzger, MD, were among faculty recognized for their generosity to the medical school during a recent reception.

Neil Stone, ’68 MD, ’74, ’75 GME, and Boyd Metzger, MD, were among faculty recognized for their generosity to the medical school during a recent reception.

During the event, 11 faculty members were lauded for joining more than 100 current and emeriti faculty in the Lifetime Giving Society of the Nathan Smith Davis Society. These individuals have given a cumulative total of at least $35,000 to the medical school in their lifetimes. In recognition of this steadfast generosity, these members have nameplates displayed on desks in the Hughes Auditorium in the Robert H. Lurie Medical Research Building.

A culture of professionalism and philanthropy

Neil Stone, ’68 MD, ’74, ’75 GME, the Robert Bonow, MD, Professor of Medicine at Feinberg, is an advocate for the Faculty Campaign. Stone attended Northwestern as an undergraduate and medical student as a part of the second group of students in the Honors Program in Medical Education. After training at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and the National Institutes of Health, he returned to Northwestern to be chief medical resident and a cardiology fellow. He then joined the faculty and has been an active member for more than 40 years.

“I support the medical school and the Faculty Campaign because Northwestern matters to me,” he said. “Northwestern Medicine is a group I love being a part of. We share enthusiasm and professionalism, as well as an aspiration to make Northwestern even better than it is now.”

Neilson and Stone asked all faculty at the reception for ideas and advice on how to increase participation in the Faculty Campaign and, importantly, to engage faculty in the life of the school more overall.

Peter McMenamin, ’87 PT, assistant professor of Physical Therapy and Human Movement Sciences, shared his thoughts: “We need to create a culture of ‘giving back’ early in one’s career, no matter the size of the gift. Once established, that habit will grow together with advancing career success.”

“Our faculty members are the heart of our medical school and are a tremendous asset to our students, trainees, their colleagues and patients,” Neilson said. “I know that we will fulfill the aspirations of this campaign with our faculty’s full support and participation. I am so grateful to the faculty members who have joined us thus far in this effort or are considering it.”