Shubhada Ahya, MD

Shubhada Ahya, MD, professor of Medicine in the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension, has received the Medical Advisory Board Distinguished Service Award from the National Kidney Foundation.

Andrew D. Bunta, ’67 MD, ’74 GME, associate professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, has been named a “Pillar of the Orthopaedic Profession” by the American Orthopaedic Association. The honor recognizes orthopaedic surgeons for their significant dedication, leadership and contributions to the field.

Phyllis Zee, MD, PhD, ‘87 GME, the Benjamin and Virginia T. Boshes Professor of Neurology, has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Sleep Foundation (NSF). The award recognizes contributions to sleep medicine and the public health mission of the NSF.

Lucy Bilaver, PhD

Lucy Bilaver, PhD, associate professor of Pediatrics, has been named director of the Health Sciences Integrated PhD (HSIP) program in the Center for Education in Health Sciences (CEHS), the education and training center within the Institute for Public Health and Medicine (IPHAM).

Richard Epstein, PhD, MPH, research professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, has been named associate director of HSIP. 

The following three members of the Feinberg faculty have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies:

  • Elizabeth McNally, MD, PhD, the Elizabeth J. Ward Professor of Genetic Medicine, director of the Center for Genetic Medicine and a professor of Medicine in the Division of Cardiology;
  • Thomas McDade, PhD, a professor of Anthropology in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences and in Feinberg’s Department of Medical Social Sciences; and 
  • Catherine Woolley, PhD, a professor of Neurobiology in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences and in the Ken and Ruth Davee Department of Neurology at Feinberg

Amy Paller, MD, ’83 GME, chair and Walter J. Hamlin Professor of Dermatology and a professor of Pediatrics, received the Tanioku Kihei Memorial Award the International Award from the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, and was invited for Honorary Membership status in the Society for Investigative Dermatology, the American Academy of Dermatology and the Japanese Society for Investigative Dermatology. Paller is also the recipient of the American Skin Association 2021 David Martin Carter Mentor Award.

Todd Florin, MD

Todd Florin, MD, MSCE, director of research for the Division of Emergency Medicine at Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago and associate professor of Pediatrics, has been elected Strategy and Operations Officer at the Society for Pediatric Research.

Philip Greenland, MD, the Harry W. Dingman Professor of Cardiology and professor of Preventive Medicine, has been named the recipient of the Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography 2021 Arthur S. Agatston Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Award for his contributions to the field of cardiovascular disease prevention.

Stephen Miller, PhD, the Judy Gugenheim Research Professor of Microbiology-Immunology, has received the 2021 Technology Innovation and Development Award from the Society for Biomaterials.

Bonnie Spring, PhD, director of the Center for Behavior and Health in the Institute for Public Health and Medicine (IPHAM) and professor of Preventive Medicine and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, has received the Society of Behavioral Medicine’s Distinguished Scientist Award.

Dimitri Krainc, MD, PhD, chair and the Aaron Montgomery Ward Professor of Neurology, has received a Research Program Award grant from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. The award allows investigators freedom to embark upon long-term research projects without the constraints of specific aims and provides eight years of funding totaling about $9 million.

Thomas Meade, PhD

Thomas Meade, PhD, the Eileen M. Foell Professor of Cancer Research and professor of Radiology, was awarded 2021 Northwestern University Teaching Award.

Jacqueline Pongracic, MD, chief of Allergy and Immunology in the Department of Pediatrics and professor of Pediatrics in the Division of Allergy and Immunology, received the Distinguished Clinician Award at the annual meeting of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology.