Faculty Awards & Honors

John Pandolfino, MD, ’94, ’96 GME

Ike Okwuosa, MD, ’13 GME, assistant dean of Medical Education and assistant professor of Medicine in the Division of Cardiology, is the recipient of the Impact Educator of the Year award from the I Am Abel Foundation.  

John Pandolfino, MD, ‘94, ‘96 GME, the Hans Popper Professor of Medicine in the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology and chief of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, is the recipient of the Hero in Healthcare Angel award from the I Am Abel Foundation.  

Kimbra A. Bell, MD, clinical associate professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine, has been named medical director of one of Northwestern Medicine’s latest ambulatory expansion projects, located in the Bronzeville neighborhood. 

Sara A. Solla, PhD

Sara A. Solla, PhD, professor of Neuroscience, was elected as a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies.  

Leah C. Neubauer, EdD, MA

Leah C. Neubauer, EdD, MA, associate professor of Preventive Medicine in the Division of Public Health Practice, has been awarded the 2022 Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR) F. Marian Bishop Educator Award.  

Ashti A. Doobay-Persaud, MD, co-director of the Robert J. Havey, MD Institute for Global Health Center for Global Health Education and associate professor of Medical Education and Medicine in the Division of Hospital Medicine, was awarded the Dr. Thomas Hall-Dr. Nelson Sewankambo Mid-Career Leadership Award from the Consortium of Universities for Global Health.  

Karin B. Ulstrup, MD, ‘04 GME, clinical assistant professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine, was awarded the Velji Faculty Leader in Global Health Innovation.  

Andrea Graham, PhD, assistant professor of Medical Social Sciences and Preventive Medicine, received the annual Society of Behavioral Medicine Early Career Investigator Award from the Society of Behavioral Medicine.  

Harris R. Perlmand, PhD

Emilie Johnson, MD, MPH, FACS, professor of Urology in the division of Pediatric Urology and a member of IPHAM’s Center for Health Services and Outcomes Research (CHSOR), was selected as a USMART Mentee through the American Urological Association (AUA).  

Katherine L. Wisner, MD

Harris R. Perlman, PhD, the Mabel Greene Myers Professor of Medicine in the Division of Rheumatology, and Katherine L. Wisner, MD, the Norman and Helen Asher Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences in the Division of General Psychiatry and of Obstetrics and Gynecology, received the Medical Faculty Council Faculty (MFC) Mentor of the Year Award.  

Melissa Simon, MD, MPH, the George H. Gardner, MD, professor of Clinical Gynecology and vice chair for research in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, has been elected to the Association of American Physicians (AAP).  

Farzaneh Sorond, MD, PhD

Farzaneh Sorond, MD, PhD, the Dean Richard H. Young and Ellen Stearns Young Professor and chief of Stroke in the Division of Neurology and associate dean for Faculty Development, was named the new vice dean for Academic Affairs, effective September 1, 2022. She will fill the former role of William Lowe, Jr., MD, who served as vice dean for Academic Affairs for 14 years. 

Grant Barish, MD, the Martha Leland Sherwin Professor of Medicine in the Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Molecular Medicine, has been elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation, which seeks to support the scientific efforts, educational needs, and clinical aspirations of physician-scientists to improve the health of all people.  

William J. Gradishar, MD, the Betsy Bramsen Professor of Breast Oncology and chief of Hematology and Oncology, received the 2022 Rodger Winn Award from the National Comprehensive Cancer Network for his contributions in the development of clinical breast cancer practice guidelines, commitment to excellence, and dedication to multidisciplinary care.  

Evan Scott, PhD, the Kay Davis professor of Biomedical Engineering and Microbiology-Immunology, was inducted into the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE). AIMBE Fellows represent the top 2 percent of medical and biological engineers, including the most accomplished medical and biological engineers in academia, industry, education, clinical practice, and government.