Recent achievements of Feinberg School of Medicine faculty and leaders

Elizabeth McNally, MD, PhD

Elizabeth McNally, MD, PhD, the Elizabeth J. Ward Professor of Genetic Medicine and director of the Center for Genetic Medicine, has been awarded the 2023 Martin E. and Gertrude G. Walder Award for Research Excellence. The award recognizes McNally’s work as an international authority on human and experimental cardiovascular genetics who has revolutionized our understanding of inherited myopathies.

Mary McDermott, MD, ’92 GME

Mary McDermott, MD, ’92 GME, the Jeremiah Stamler Professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine, has been awarded the American Heart Association 2023 Clinical Research Prize. This nationally recognized award is presented at the Annual Scientific Sessions conference hosted by the American Heart Association (AHA) to recognize and reward an individual who is making outstanding contributions to the advancement of clinical science and who currently heads an outstanding clinical research program.

Yuan Luo, PhD

Yuan Luo, PhD, associate professor of Preventative Medicine, was inducted as a fellow into the American College of Medical Informatics (ACMI), an honorary College of elected Informatics Fellows from the United States and abroad who have made significant and sustained contributions to the field of medical informatics.

David Gate, PhD

David Gate, PhD, assistant professor of Neurology, received the American Neurological Association’s Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award in Neuroscience. The award is given annually to members who are in the first 12 years of their career and who have achieved significant stature in neurological research.

Hank Seifert, PhD

Hank Seifert, PhD, John Edward Porter Professor of Biomedical Research, has received a third Method to Extend Research in Time (MERIT) Award from the National Institutes of Health.

Mary Kwasny, ScD

Mary Kwasny, ScD, professor of Preventative Medicine, received the Founders Award from the American Statistical Association.

Herbert Meltzer, MD

Herbert Meltzer, MD, professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Pharmacology and Physiology, achieved the Number 5 lifetime ranking among all scholars worldwide in psychiatry, according to ScholarGPS.

David Cella, PhD

David Cella, PhD, professor of Medical Social Sciences, received the 2023 Tripartite Legacy Faculty Prize in Translational Science and Education. The prize is given annually to a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in research that emphasizes translational approaches, teaching and mentoring, and leadership.

Santhanam Suresh, MD, MBA, ’91 GME

Santhanam Suresh, MD, MBA, ’91 GME, professor of Anesthesiology in the Division of Pediatric Anesthesiology and a professor of Pediatrics, has been named the recipient of this year’s Excellence in Education Award, given by the American Society of Anesthesiologists. The award recognizes society members who have made outstanding contributions through demonstrated excellence in teaching, development of new teaching methods, and/or implementation of innovative educational programs in their field.

Mario Shields, PhD

Mario Shields, PhD, research assistant professor of Medicine in the Division of Hematology and Oncology, has received the National Cancer Institute’s (NCI) Cancer Moonshot Scholar Award, a new program that aims to advance cancer science while also diversifying the pool of early-stage investigators and approaches to research that NCI funds.

D. James Surmeier, PhD

D. James Surmeier, PhD, the Nathan Smith Davis Professor and chair of Neuroscience, was named the recipient of the 2023 Annemarie Opprecht Parkinson Award, an international award recognizing significant contributions to the field of Parkinson’s disease research.

Tina Q. Tan, MD

Tina Q. Tan, MD, professor of Pediatrics, Northwestern University and a Pediatric Infectious Diseases attending, medical director of the International Patient and Destination Services Program, and president-elect of the Lurie Medical/Dental Staff at Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago has been appointed president-elect of the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA), a leading professional global infectious diseases society with members who represent a diverse group of healthcare professionals and scientists.