Anthony Yang, MD, MS, associate professor of Surgery in the Division of Surgical Oncology, received an Outstanding Performance Award from the Commission on Cancer’s Cancer Liaison Program for his contributions as the physician quality leader of the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center at Northwestern Memorial Hospital. He is one of just 10 Cancer Liaison Physicians in the nation selected to receive this new award.

Stephanie Eisenbarth, MD, PhD, adjunct professor of Medicine in the Division of Division of Allergy and Immunology, was named chief of Allergy and Immunology and director of the Center for Human Immunobiology.

Jen Brown, MPH, lecturer of Preventive Medicine and co-director and co-founder of the Alliance for Research in Chicagoland Communities, has been appointed by the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) as a member of its Advisory Panel on Patient Engagement. 

Lauren Beach, JD, PhD

Lauren Beach, JD, PhD, research assistant professor of Medical Social Sciences and of Preventive Medicine, has been named the 2021 Vanderbilt University School of Nursing “Friend of Nursing,” which recognizes significant local and/or national contributions to the profession of nursing.

David Palmer, MD, clinical associate professor of Ophthalmology, received the Vincent A. Persico Advocacy Award for demonstrating excellence as an advocate for ophthlamologists and their patients at the Illinois Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons annual meeting.

Lucas Pinto, PhD, assistant professor of Neuroscience, was named a 2021 Next Generation Leader by the Allen Institute. Pinto is one of just six appointed individuals.

Leah Neubauer, EdD, MA, associate professor of Preventive Medicine in the Division of Public Health Practice, has been named associate director for the Institute for Public Health and Medicine’s Program in Public Health.

Melissa Simon, MD, MPH, ’06 GME

Melissa Simon, MD, MPH, ’06 GME, vice chair for clinical research in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and director of the Center for Health Equity Transformation in the Institute for Public Health and Medicine (IPHAM), was presented with the 2021 Henry P. Russe, MD Citation for Exemplary Compassion in Healthcare Award at the Institute of Medicine of Chicago Leadership Summit. 

Susan Quaggin, MD, the Charles H. Mayo, MD, Professor and chief of Nephrology and Hypertension in the Department of Medicine, was elected as a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors for the 2021 class cohort.

Tina Tan, MD, professor of Pediatrics in the Division of Infectious Diseases, was presented with the 2021 Society Citation Award by the Infectious Diseases Society of America.

Yogesh Goyal, PhD

John Walkup, MD, chief and professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences in the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, is the recipient of the Brain and Behavior Research Foundation Ruane Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Research.

Yogesh Goyal, PhD , adjunct assistant professor of Cell and Developmental Biology, was named a 2021 STAT Wunderkind for his development of a QR code made of DNA that identifies and tracks how tumor cells evade treatment.

Elizabeth McNally, MD, PhD, the Elizabeth J. Ward Professor of Genetic Medicine; Melissa Simon, MD, MPH, the George H. Gardner, MD, Professor of Clinical Gynecology; and Guillermo Ameer, ScD, the Daniel Hale Williams Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the McCormick School of Engineering and professor of Surgery in the Division of Vascular Surgery, have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM). NAM is one of three academies that make up the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, and strives to improve human health by advancing science, accelerating health equity, and providing trusted advice on a national and global scale.

Lisa Hirschhorn, MD, MPH

Rola Kaakeh, PharmD, CFPH, adjunct professor of Preventive Medicine is the recipient of the Above & Beyond Pharmacy Champion Award which recognizes pharmacists who demonstrate pride in the profession through advocacy, spirit and leadership.

Lisa Hirschhorn, MD, MPH, professor of Medical Social Sciences and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, has been elected to serve on the Consortium of Universities for Global Health (CUGH) Board of Directors. CUGH supports academic institutions and partners to improve the wellbeing of people and the planet through research, service, and advocacy.